top of page
Search

What we learn from the loss of a loved one

After losing my father to brain cancer, I started to wonder how I could carry on like I use too? How could I go on every day acting like nothing had happened. Something did happen, I lost my dad, my best friend, and my super hero. A couple weeks had passed, and I still had a hole in my heart. I talked to my family about getting the dog, knowing how much work puppies are. I was a little apprehensive at first, could I really handle a puppy right now? Would it overwhelm me and stress me out even more?


I took a huge step forward and decided to go look at the dogs. This is where Ginger comes in. We drove two hours to see the dogs, and the moment we got there, I knew it felt right. I hadn't been truly happy in weeks, I mean who could be after losing their dad. Ginger immediately came up to me, and my eyes lit up. I decided to get her and would come back to pick her up in a few weeks. The car ride back consisted of my mom, aunt, and grandma. Instead of the eerie feeling we all have felt lately, it was an exhilarating feeling. I had something to look forward too, and I knew she would be the saving grace for all of us. Not only for my family, but anyone in need. I have dreamed of getting a Golden Retriever for years, and training her as a therapy dog. Knowing how much my dad loved seeing the therapy dogs at his treatments... I knew what I wanted to do. Not only will she help other people heal, but she will help me heal as well.


I began to prepare for a puppy, I mean you actually have to puppy-proof the whole house. I have two other dogs, so I'm well aware of how ornery they can be. My mom and I started picking out toys and bones for her. Let me tell you, we haven't even picked her up yet.. and she's so spoiled. Beginning to prepare for her was a joyful time. The days started to get a little easier when we were doing so. Still in the back of my mind, I wished dad was here to see all of this.


Each day I remind myself to have Faith. To look forward to the happy days ahead, such as getting Ginger. Knowing there are still hard days ahead, I look to Ginger to help me heal.


124 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page